Day 26 & 27: The end is near

“When you’re a kid, they tell you it’s all… grow up. Get a job. Get married. Get a house. Have a kid, and that’s it. But the truth is, the world is so much stranger than that. It’s so much darker. And so much madder. And so much better.”
― Elton Pope

I’ve got 2 challenge days left.  I feel like I both should have learned a lot more this month, and that I learned a lot.  But 30 days is only enough time for so much.

And time…time seems to be a premium.

Last July, my Nana died.  She was a beautiful, snarky, classy lady.  And this was the catalyst for…a lot of things.  Death of a loved one shows you a lot about how people respond to stress…and some people respond very well…and some people…don’t.

So we went through her things…cleaning out the whole house, per my grandfather’s request.  And I found myself taking home things, that, while they didn’t have a lot of meaning for me…I didn’t want them to be “homeless.”  I was assigning sentiment to objects…giving them feelings…when really, they were things I was feeling instead.

I wish I could tell you there was one specific thing that I took and now I treasure and its a lasting memory…but there are too many.  I took a pair of vintage fashion prints because I remember looking up at them from the bed in the guest room and making up stories about who the ladies were, and why they wore their dresses…what they were talking about.  When we went to go through the house to starting taking things…I couldn’t believe no one wanted them.  They were so cool, how could no one want them?

They just didn’t mean anything to them.

I also got a fair amount of vintage costume jewelry for the same reason…and its a nice piece of her to have….

And I guess, while I was watching Doctor Who there’s a lot of talk of what we leave behind, what it means, and what stories people will remember us by.  I’ll remember a tall, graceful women with elegant style and a quick wit.  And I tell stories about her and other people will remember her.  I’m not quite sure where this all goes, but I think I’m mostly trying to…to do things to be remembered?  That I will leave a legacy of stories…and I’m just trying to write it all done.

Physical Health:

Hours of Sleep: 4 hours.  Stayed up TOOOOOO late talking with friends.  But you need to talk to your friends sometimes.

Exercise: I rage gardened.  I may have severed the extension cord with the hedge trimmer much to the dismay of my husband.  Oops.

Breakfast: omlet, sausage, toast, and some glorious pumpkin french toast

Health

Cleaning or Packing?: Soooooo many dishes,…sooooo many coffee mugs

Made my bed?:  After much discussion with a friend who was doing this with me we have come to the conclusion that this is pointless and does nothing for us.  But I did it yesterday AND today (even though I did it today at 6 pm I did it.)

Read 1 book a week:ended up reading Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson because I needed a book that would cheer me up.

Conclusion

I’ll be a story in your head. That’s okay. We’re all stories in the end. Just make it a good one, eh? ‘Cause it was, you know. It was the best.

-Doctor Who

-C

Leave a Reply

