Day 11: This is my favorite place

Well it’s time I was getting back home, where the sound is the song in my heart
All the places I go, I always know that home is wherever you are

This is my favorite place, my worry slips away
I could stay here for days and days and days and days
This is my favorite place, my worry slips away
-Stephen Kellogg & The Sixers My Favorite Place

I was sitting down to write a very different post from what I think I’m going to write now.  I was going to write about my favorite place.  Which is, in fact, is a cabin in the North Woods.

My brother on the lake by the cabin.

My brother on the lake by the cabin.

Which, is a great place to go, and a place I feel very at peace.

But that’s not what I’m going to write about.

Somehow, I’ve landed in a spot where many people I know are just starting new relationships.  Which is weird, because the last time this happened  was one of those people starting a new relationship and it was all bubbly and weird and girl talk and “What did he MEAN by that text?” all at once.

And now…

There’s a part in When Harry Met Sally (my favorite romantic comedy ever) where Sally’s friends are in bed together, after Sally and Harry have finally gotten romantic.  Sally and Harry call them in a panic, trying to figure out what this means and they look at each other and Carrie Fisher says “Tell me I’ll never have to be out there again.”  And they snuggle and go to bed.

About a year and a half ago, we got a dog.  He…likes to snuggle.  And, at 60 lbs he is not a small dog.  I was very firm and said the dog sleeps on the floor.

I went to Germany, came back, and due to not completely unreasonable circumstances, the dog was in the bed.

After a year, a truce has been negotiated between me, my husband and the dog.

My point?

I’m in my favorite place.  A place with a comfort I, quite honestly, was never sure I would possess.  There is just something so reassuring about having a nightmare, waking up, and there’s someone to hold onto.  Of hearing strange noises in the night and hearing “What was that?” and not having to be alone in grabbing a baseball bat to investigate.

My husband and I express love in different ways.  He expresses it through action, touches, acts of service.  I…as you may have guessed…am pretty into words.  Our anniversary is coming up on the 21st so I’ve been thinking a lot about memorable moments in our relationship.

The most romantic thing I remember is Valentine’s Day 2 1/2 years ago I got an email at work.  No title.  Just the lyrics to a song.  The whole song is pretty great, but I’m going to list the relevant lyrics below.

(The Airborne Toxic Event – The Graveyard Near The House)

I’m just trying to write it all down.

I write songs, and you write letters. We are tied like two in tethers, and we talk and read and laugh and sleep at night in
Bed together. And you wake in tears sometimes, I can see the thoughts flash across your eyes.
They say, “Darling will you be kind? Will you be a good man and stay behind if I get old?”

Then the letters all flash through my head, with the words that I was told about the fading flesh of life and love,
The failures of the bold. I can list each crippling fear like I’m reading from a will.

And I’ll defy every one and love you still. I will carry you with me up every hill. And if you die before I die,
I’ll carve your name out of the sky. I’ll fall asleep with your memory and dream of where you lie.

It may be better to move on and to let life just carry on and I may be wrong. Still I’ll try.

Because it’s better to love whether you win or lose or die. It’s better to love and I will love you until I die.

He made me cry at work.  Because…its so perfect.  And it was words and he understood how I needed them.  (He loves music, so we exchange a lot of songs back and forth).

That’s even better than “You’ll never have to go out there again.”  That’s better than anything.

Wherever he is?  That’s my favorite place.

Physical Health:

Hours of Sleep: 8.5 hours.

Exercise: It was grey and we went from 72 and humid yesterday to 48 today.  Brr.  So I took the stairs a lot and spent a lot of time walking around Target.  My receipt was under $50 so I count that a success on both counts.

Breakfast: cup of tea, babybel cheese, orange juice, dried super fruit berries

Health

Cleaning or Packing?: Cleaned out a shelf on the fridge, emptied a bunch of garbage.  Started a plan of attack for organizing some stuff at the new house.

Made my bed?:  Made it.  Just shook my head at it and moved on.

Read 1 book a week: No progress on The Unauthorized Story of Walt Disney’s Haunted Mansion because I found a trashy romance novel.  Oops

Conclusion

“Then, one stupid person, no different from any other stupid person, wanders into your stupid life…you give them a piece of you. They don’t ask for it. They do something dumb one day like kiss you or smile at you, and then your life isn’t your own anymore.”
Neil Gaiman

Its awfully nice to have someone to share it with.

-C

Leave a Reply

