Day 5: Working for the Weekend

“Caring about someone isn’t complicated,” I said. “It isn’t easy. But it isn’t complicated, either. Kinda like lifting the engine block out of a car.”

-Jim Butcher, The Dresden Files

There must be something in the air.  Somehow, I’ve become a person people go to for advice.  Which, if you’re reading this and looking at me trying to sort my own life out, I find a little amusing.

Following up the revelation that, instead of the noble Gryffindor I thought I was, I am, in fact, a Slytherin, we had a discussion today about what Star Trek captain we would be.  After taking a few quizzes online and some wikipedia research, one of my friends said this about me:

Classic Kirk:  willing to punch both the prime directive and the temporal directive in the face to do what you think is right and to protect your crew. And a real visceral love of life and adventure.

I laughed for awhile and then I thought “What a great way for someone to look at you!”  Kirk has his faults but, in the end, he is loyal to his crew, loyal to the end.  And if I’m moody and unsure of where to go…what better thing for your friends to think you have a visceral love of life and adventure?

That’s a perception of me I want to live up to.  So my desk quote today reflects that:

The big question is whether you are going to be able to say a hearty yes to your adventure. – Joseph Campbell

The weekend is here.  I say yes.  In the words of Pixar’s Up “Adventure is out there!”

Today’s Progress

Physical Health:

Hours of Sleep: 7.5 hours

Exercise: This was tough today, and I think I fell about 10 minutes short…but I’m going on a big walking adventure around Chicago and after conferring with legal counsel, I’ve stay true enough to the letter of what I was doing.  And I have a freebie “exercise” forgiveness day.  I parked my car a little further away at work today, went up and down the very long stairs several extra times, walked for 2 coffee runs…so I built extra steps into my day and I feel good about making that choice.

Breakfast: 1 paleo egg cup, a babybel light cheese and a clementine orange.

Drinks: 0

Life Health 

Cleaning or Packing?: Unloaded the dishwasher, threw out some science projects in the very back of the fridge (shudder), folded laundry, washed dishes after dinner, cleaned off part of the sideboard in the dining room.

Made my bed?: Sigh.  Yes.  (No one else gets this, either. I have several friends doing this for the first time and we’re at a loss for why this helps…maybe its like flossing or something)

Spiritual Health: “The Knights are here to protect freedom. To give those who are under the oppression of dark forces the chance to win free of them. I cannot sit in judgment on this man’s soul, Harry Dresden. Not for you. Not for anyone. All I can do is remain faithful to my calling. Give him the chance to see hope for his future. To show him the love and compassion any human being should show another. The rest is out of my hands.” (faith as presented in The Dresden Files)

Read 1 book a week: Abandoned Lizzie Borden meets Cthulu as its not doing anything for me.  May try it again closer to Halloween.  Next week’s book is going to be The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier.  Its science fiction about how, one day, everyone’s injuries throughout their body start glowing with an inner light.  I’m really looking forward to reading it.

Conclusions

The work quote of the day was If no one’s talking to you about doing stuff wrong, you’re doing it right.  I think that’s enough for today.

-C

Leave a Reply

